Bike Week, without the bikes

I have often wondered what Bike Week looks like to people in Nebraska. Or, what those people think of Gilford, New Hampshire. Bikers know, but my guess is everyone else … But, it surely isn’t an art/antique destination.

Gilford, Gilmanton, Gilmanton Iron Works and Alton actually inspired this blog. No, these are probably not art/antiques destinations, but I hope to promote those reasons to come to these places. And others.

I happened to be sitting in my campsite at Gunstock, a year-round resort where I have done some snow-shoeing and cross-country skiing, just outside Gilford, when I happened on the idea for this blog-to use an old expression. The following morning sent me running home for raingear-and 45 minutes away, that was OK.

After finishing rain-proofing the campsite, I ventured off to see if there might be enough to write about. There will be plenty.

As a writer, reviewer, critic, I am not necessarily looking for the same thing in all venues. And, having lived in New Hampshire for a long time, I have seen some remarkable work in general stores. And, that’s what I am looking for.

S0, I set out, first to Gilford. No. Nothing that looked like a museum, gallery and I don’t even remember a gift store. And, after that rainy start to the morning, the day turned rather hot and sunny.

I drove into the outskirts of Laconia, but that was not the point. Laconia is large enough that I should be able to make a post just on it. So, down to Gilmanton, Gilmanton Iron Works and back around. The circle, with stops took less than 1 1/2 hour.

Down 106. And into, Gilmanton. N., Into Gilmanton Iron Works. There was a fabric store. I should have stopped but didn’t.

Back into Alton, and then Alton Bay. I did stop at an antique store on 140 not long before reconnecting with 28.  I unfortunately have lost the proprietor’s card but he was genuinely friendly. We discussed a  50’s AM radio as well as a piece of carnival glass. A nice piece of Carnival glass, but not marked.

From there I was back to camp, to once again dream how I could make this a revenue stream. There are more ideas in the works., and I will be reviewing Portsmouth Art Around Town on Friday.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 08/03/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

