A week and a hurricane later

I knew I would be good at this if I kept up with it and didn’t bite off too much each week-end. I was content with what I wrote about August 20, but the 21st got lost in the shuffle. And, since I plan to hang a few pieces at The Early Bird, I will return and gather a great deal more information.

I was en route from Rochester to York on August 21. I had a few minutes to explore and I wanted to stop at The Emporium, in South Berwick, ME to get their hours and sneak a peak through their window.  A few storefronts down is another gallery which is newly opened called Film Barn Studios. Where The Emporium offers some smaller, though really accomplished and sometimes somewhat edgy art, Film Barn made my big-city inner-child scream “YES”! Nice, well-conceived abstract canvases-a further attempt would not really be honest, since they were viewed again, through the window.

Since neither is open on Sunday, and certainly not at 8:30, I decided a coffee and a bagel sounded like a plan. Next door to the Film Barn is The Early Bird. I spoke at length with Penny Morgan, who bought the cafe in April. I was delighted to find that she also had some good local art on the walls, as well.

Penny is very enthusiastic about the business’ possibilities as well as including art on her walls. She is hoping to fill them, and she said that “Art makes and creates the Early Bird”. These are images of current work exhibited here.

The hours I found online are not accurate-please call.

Address: 241 Main Street, South Berwick, ME

 

 

York Village Gallery, York Village, Maine

My second, and intended stop, was the York Village Gallery, York Village, Maine.  I know someone related to the business, and I thought I could give them a nice “plug”. And, since my blog has not got a tremendous amount of traffic yet, another established gallery would be good.

This was unfortunately not my best stop. The owner would not allow me to photograph any work that wasn’t theirs, and was not nearly as enthusiastic about giving me information as some others have been.

A general overview sort of critique is to say that he has many Boston School painters, and is catering to a seascape-buying clientele. Kathy Morrissey’s “Two Fishermen” was the piece that captivated me for more than a quick glance. Nice impasto, studied and spontaneous at once. I have always admired painters who can really apply paint in a manner that seems to be both.

Gallery address: 244 York Street, York, Maine 03909    Hours: Tues-Sat, 10-4 

Through the Hurricane

Now, for the meat of the blog-because this is also about the series of paintings called “Art in Small Places”. I was able to finish four paintings this week-end. And, there are 5 more started; two are “Storm Surge 1” and “Storm Surge 2”. Splatter painting on this scale is a challenge.

I am continuing with the 16 square grid, 6″x6″ scale on watercolor paper. I am continuing to use Arches coldpress 140 lb. watercolor paper with a variety of mediums including watercolor, acrylic, chalk, oil pastel, pencil, and Prismacolor.

Dancing to Irene, with Bad Religion, m/m on watercolor paperDancing to Irene, with U2, m/m on watercolor paperDancing to Irene, with Green Day. m/m on watercolor paper

 
About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 08/30/2011, in art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I hope you made it through the hurricane without any disasters. Sounds like you have been busy painting and traveling. Good work?

Leave a Reply

