Surely I digress…

A quick post about art in very large places…

I am originally from southern California. I went to school there, too. With some rather talented people, I might add.

Recently, Jeffrey Vallance showed at the Andy Warhol Museum in New York. I remember his mini-installation pieces right outside the art building. I also remember being seriously aggravated by a graffiti piece that he and two of his friends put up in the painting studio. But, he has gone on to show internationally and I can say that I at least shared that space with his energy. We didn’t have any studio classes together.

Last week, Robert Piser opened at the James Gray Gallery in Santa Monica. Bob and I did have  a class together at Reseda High with Mr. Gill.

I won’t comment on Vallance because that’s been covered. And, having not seen Bob’s stuff up close, I am only going to make a few really general comments.

I have read a few of the comments on his Facebook page that compare Piser to a few well-known pop artists. I would disagree. I think Bob knows late 40s and 50s LA and puts it out there, better than any that I have seen. They are very derivative of that period’s advertising. And, unfortunately, that is all I can say-my 15″ monitor screen doesn’t deliver good enough imagery and…there is nothing like seeing art on the wall.

Thanks to them and to all who make art. Good job.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 02/17/2012, in art, galleries, New York, Santa Monica and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

