It was almost “waiting for gesso” again…

another new pieceS

Incredible studio day. Stopped for soup. I worked for about 10 hours.

Arles, acrylic on canvas, but I will add oil, very tiny, 9"x9"-with two pieces of canvas. In progress.

These are new ‘in progress” works. “Cross Bands” was started a few weeks ago. I stripped an old canvas, and stretched new canvas on the old stretchers. I didn’t have canvas that was wide enough, so I came up with good ways to use scrap. “Arles” was started this week with the same attitude. It actually is also two pieces of cloth. I started working about 8 today. Since I got stretcher bars and canvas for 8 pieces for Blick, and had two more ready, I had no opportunity to stop. 

 I feel like I have traversed light years, and bounced around them trying to figure out where my “16 Squares” will fit. ” Another Compass, Another Mountain #4″  was started with the thought that I should follow all of the local lead for imagery/texture. I added cat litter to this one, instead of plaster, and I really didn’t want to go to the beach for sand.    

 “Another Compass, Another Mountain #3” originally incorporated print, but it seemed so…unimportant… the paper added a really nice surface, and nothing more. 

So, here’s the “real, edited” version. My father called, and I abruptly and swiftly ended last night’s post.

The point that I did not make in all of this is how important it is for me to see work, outside of my four walls.  And seeing my work on other walls also fuels that, too. This is all inspiration. As silly as it might seem., my boss asked me to hang work in our lounge-and that was a major compliment. And, they are not my walls.

More to come. The Rochester MFA got some huge local press for their opening. I tend to not give more than real “overviews” here until I can seriously view the work. There are new opportunities that I am hearing about daily now. More inspiration!

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 03/04/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

