Art Animals

I really do need to take more pictures. The mayhem that one of our VPs, KC created with the inclusion of two dogs as part of a going-away video for Joe was rather the introduction to the rest of the day. It was actually fun thanks to Bijou and Emma!

After the office, I went to UNH to meet with another artist that had contacted me regarding showing at the Stone Church. Liz Wilson has her art dog named Riley, a mid-sized, short-haired primarily black pooch who was only overly-social once. And, very intelligent and well-acclimated to studio life.

I have “signed on” Elizabeth Wilson to show at the Stone Church in August. I spent some time with the work and I am at present, at least, not really drawing a good direct historic parallel to her and who her major influences have been. There is the “color field” property that prevailed with Rothko and she showed me one piece that overall, had his “mark”. The shapes and some of the color in smaller work reminded me of Calder-but only reminded. Nevertheless, completely abstract.

From there, I went back to New Castle, via Rye. The Soo Rye  Gallery opened at least two years ago and I was embarrassed to tell the owner that it was the first time that I had ever visited. It’s a beautiful, two-story space, and the Drawing and Printmaking show on the first floor was really well-assembled. The second floor was a retro of the owner’s drawings and prints. The gallery is located at 11 Sagemore Road, Rye, NH 03870 and at www.soorye.com.  And a final note-I found Soo Rye to be an incredibly gracious gallery owner.

Now to cats. My next stop was the home/studio of Taryn Myers. I am planning to combine her work with that of a local illustrator. Taryn attended the opening at the Stone Church last Sunday and regaled us all with tales of her female cat, Cleo, “marking” the edge of a wet painting and winding up with a very green cheek. Miss Prudence, I think I mentioned here, parked herself last Sunday on the floor between me and the palette, and the tail ended up swishing through it a few times.

Taryn does some work that reminds me of Georgia O’Keefe but her more recent paintings are painterly wood nymphs that her husband refers to as her “Tree People”. I will be meeting the artist I believe I will be pairing with her on Sunday.

In the meantime, since I am also working as an artist (really, you had no idea, right?), I have a meeting with Malynda and Brian tomorrow about the Gatehouse Gallery show and I assuming we may be talking also about some of our collective dreams. More to come, I am sure!

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 03/13/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

