Brain Salad Surgery

Yes, I have dated myself…maybe. Those of my gen surely remember Emerson, Lake and Palmer.

Walking into my employer’s today, after about 20 hours worth of studio and writing time over the last two days, produced what I can only describe as the worst 20 minute headache of the last six months. It did not last long, but my mind was drifting off to this canvas or that while I was trying to focus on a spreadsheet. And, all of a sudden it was really difficult to actually physically focus on the screen. I know it’s partly sinus pressure, too, because my allergies are kicking in.

But, brain salad surgery describes the feeling. I think of cole slaw. My brain as cole slaw.

From spreadsheets to some really fun and well-executed illustration. I met Taylor Rose after work. Aside from putting her whimsy on paper in ink and watercolor, she is also treating skateboard decks. I will be featuring her work with that of Taryn Myers  in June at the Stone Church. This will be another show like the one that is up-two very different artists dealing with a “lighter side”.

I also decided that I will need to start selling some of the older work at some major discounts. I know how many hours are invested in some of these pieces, but it makes no sense to store them. As I start putting them on Etsy, I will post them here, first.

"Knight's Garage", 2006. Oil on canvas, 16"x20". Originally $450, now $200. Shipping and handling additional.

The Gatehouse Gallery website addition also looks awesome. I am incredibly proud to be their very first “featured artist” and I hope I can help them develop their business. Expect to see more mentions here about all that. I heard from Peggy Trout today from the Rochester Library, and we are starting to coordinate that show. More about the reception and show dates to follow. The headache is still here, though not nearly as bad. And, my dear followers, you will actually see some of the work that has gotten me “here”, in one way or another.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 03/19/2012, in art, NH, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

