Fear of thumbprints…

I can always tell when it’s down to the “wire” in show preparation. I start really paying attention to the sides of my canvases. Even before pieces are done, I start adding the hanging hardware. And, one last dab here.

But, at this manic stage (and it always is with me), one thing inevitably happens. I pick up one piece that has a wet edge and I don’t realize it. I am not about fingerpaint or automatic writing. Unplanned, happy “accidents” are one thing, a big red smear across a gray ground, not so much. I caught it before it happened tonight, and because of that, “Arial” will be one of the pieces that goes to Tamworth. Otherwise…

I’ve had a canvas get punctured the night before delivery. And, there are always framing mishaps. But, a thumbprint is not a quick fix. And, it looks like 6 of the 8 really new canvases will be going to the Gatehouse. A couple of the more experimental pieces may not, only because I really need to figure out how to present them. But, it will be a solid show!

The Newmarket Creativity Center contacted me for bio and statement info, and that’s all set.

Re: internet sales. I have dealt with scammers and spammers before, and that’s all I got for responses to craigslist today. Not unexpected. The ebay listings have gone from artID onto ebay, and I will be sure to keep everyone abreast on that. Otherwise, a word-to-the-wise, do not ship until you have cash in hand.

And, to wrap it up, these are pieces for KAA’s auction, that also got some work this week-end:

These are experimental, and by nature, not supposed to be more than $100 each, when finished.

I am taking elements of my most most recent work , and encapsulating them.

So far, this is my favorite. One of my best 8 foot pieces used these sticks. And, since I am working on a rigid surface, I can use these.

Spam and scam continue…

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 03/27/2012, in art, galleries, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

