Statement of intent for the next two shows

Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst

 

Statement of intent for “16”:

In 2009, I began to revisit art concerns that I had tackled in 1981-1983, when I worked with modular pieces that could be rearranged. “Puzzles, and related work”, was shown at the Rochester Public Library, Rochester, NH  in 2010, and six of those pieces also were displayed at the Portsmouth Art Exchange, Portsmouth, NH. These pieces were canvases mounted on magnets and framed on metal sheets. They relied on the 4×4, 16 square compositional framework that has made it through the rest of the recent work.

After the close of the Rochester Library show last year, I decided that I needed to explore art in rural parts of the state. I had also determined a need to work while in those rural places, camping. Hence, the blog, http://www.artinsmallplaces.wordpress.com was born, and so was a series of small mixed-medium watercolor abstracts, by the same name.

This present show includes many of the most recent, which I am combining under the name “16”. They are a combination of canvases and paper pieces that all address abstraction using a 4×4 square grid, from 2011-2012. The “Art in Small Places” watercolor/mixed-medium group, are represented by pieces that reflect my interpretations of landscape and severe weather. They are all framed, and glassed, and measure 12”x12”.

By December, 2011, I had lined up the show at the Stone Church, and I needed more work. The “Art in Small Places” show was installed at the Portable Pantry. I built the “Windows” series to be included, and that’s when I moved back to oil on canvas. I don’t usually winter camp, and I was working from home. Over the Christmas holidays, I introduced collage elements, and from that came “Another Compass for Another Mountain #3”, the signature piece for the show at the Gatehouse Gallery in Tamworth, through April, 2012.

There are numerous pieces that I have since created which include what I call a “canvas wrap”. They include a loose piece of canvas as a collage element, stretched, folded and twisted across a portion of the square canvas to create another surface, and another way to describe that which I am portraying. These are much more painterly, and I can use a bit of palette knife work.

“No artist works in a box, and some of us that try to keep it cerebral often get it all wrong. I am responding to my world, and organizing it in these little boxes. And, then, sometimes, I let it splash, or run, bleed right out of them.”

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 04/12/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

