Let the Games Begin-Day 1

I alluded to my Facebook audience that I might be a bit busy for the next five days. And whatever posts I make will be reposts from here. I think that will be accurate-oh my!

I packed up the private show from my office before I left, and did personal errands. I visited the Rochester Library before going home “just to be sure” I also had the two display cases. Peggy Trout was there and available. As it turned out, when I sent out bio and statement to Nikki’s Dream, I failed to send anything to Peggy. Not good!. I have since tailored a version of all of the above for her, too.

I am actually really happy with the statement rewrite that I gave Peggy, so I’ll post it here:

Artist’s Statement:

A few years back, I watched the size of art reflect the size of most average Americans’ disposable income.  At the time, I was creating a series of pieces that were small, but were designed as maquettes for larger pieces. I also thought that the idea of art that could be rearranged by the owner was a saleable concept.

Last spring, I took the 16-square grid, and shrank it down to 6”x6”. I took the same abstract concepts that I have used in larger oils and applied them to these little watercolor/mixed-medium pieces. What I am achieving is small works that demand a little more attention, watercolors that are a bit tougher, and abstracts that I can work while I am traveling. I am also finding the expression of landscape in this format to be challenging. I do not want the Rockies to necessarily look like the Rockies, but I want to convey their presence, also in this small format.

I also translate weather and my response to it this way. These are all big events, but for the most part, really only impact me briefly. Hence, the size makes a lot of sense-huge temporary impact. Hurricane Irene was translated into the “Dancing to Irene” series. There is also a new piece called “Snowstorm in October”. I lost power for a few hours, and the snow against the holly was beautiful.

With a portion of my Christmas bonus, I purchased some 12” square canvases. These started with the same feel as the paper pieces, but rapidly took on a more substantial feel. Some even include additional layers of canvas, and some have paper and board between the canvas and paint. But, as the signature piece for the show in Tamworth suggests, I am still translating my surroundings and experience. I will debut two for the show at Nikki’s Dream, also called “16” that are 24” square.

Now, to start the labels for that show, and I am hoping for all of Malynda’s info tonight.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 04/27/2012, in art, galleries, Manchester, NH and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

