When art comes home…and other observations

A long week.

Wednesday, Malynda Forcier’s show came down. And, my piece came home. Malynda and Brian and I worked out a trade where I got a 12″x12″ “AmsterGirl” and she got my “Another Compass for Another Mountain #2”, with additional computer support from Brian to make up the difference. She already has hers.

Sad day though, because I really liked that show and I won’t say I won’t but I don’t think  I will ever get to some of the places they have been.

Thursday morning, I woke up with a huge, screaming knee. Ladder work, and not new. But, I had a  show to hang and one to pull in the next two days. I went to work in a brace, but took it off around 9:30.

Since I leave work at 3 and the Stone Church doesn’t open until 5, I decided to do part of the Art Around Town in Portsmouth, early. The Gallery at 100 Market offers some extraordinarily well delivered work that left me wanting a blanket. And, there were others that felt like they needed a room all to themselves, they were so powerful. All-in-all, every piece is masterfully delivered, but I was missing real warmth, soul and individuality in some. I am also curious as to why the show offers very little 2-d besides paint on canvas and photography. No prints, as in silkscreen, relief? And, the only mixed-media was a paper cut-out piece.

I LOVED the show at 3 Graces. I have done photo-real and this stuff is good and refreshing. Cinda Rizza, “What the Shadows Say” feels really good to me. I did several “Porch” studies in my day that were similar. I like that they weren’t contrived and posed. And, really everyday objects. I have seen enough beach chairs, but the fluidity of the laundry on the line struck home.

Nahcotta, I’m sorry, was a disappointment-and that rarely happens. Though beautifully executed, I cry when I see painterly, impressionistic florals and that kind of still-life. And, then…

And, then to hang, “For the Love of Nature”. Thank GOD Taryn could help. The show was up in record time. It was fun to hang, too. Taryn is very serious and all about using nature in symbolic ways, and Taylor is all about the child exploring it.

Tonight, I pulled my show from the Rochester Library. And, the Nikki’s Dream show and presentation has been postponed until August so…and the Me and Ollie’s show isn’t until August so…I have lots of work here.

Art Comes Home from the library

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 06/02/2012, in art, Rochester and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

