Unraveling

I am in the process, as I have mentioned a few times, of breaking out of the geometric mode that I was in and experimenting with collage, etc.

This is the newest of those pieces. After I came home yesterday and sorted through the 132 pictures that I shot (see last few posts), I dug through a pile of very old prints (last decade), and came up with an 10″x8″ macro of a tulip. That’s where it started.

More experimental work

“Unraveling”, 2013 collage/mixed-media, 8″x8″ (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst

(The “image” in the upper-left does not exist-it’s reflection. That area is fairly flat color.)

In this piece is also a print of a painting from the Art in Small Places series-making the statement that it’s done. And, I don’t see the unraveling process as negative, at all. It is still a continuum, and I can analyze it now with the knowledge of what came before and after. I will take from that and expand.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 02/11/2013, in art, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

