The Slow Cool Waltz to Spring

It is such a gorgeous day-and it reminds me of the day that I was inspired to start cutting these photographs, almost a month ago.

There are parts of all of seasons in this piece, with the burst of color from fall as the bottom layer, the snow-encrusted oaks as the next (and main layer), and the rose “pieces” as the next two (alluding to the coming spring and summer). I was looking at the natural “lace” created as I cut into the oak. Since I used it twice, and inverted it, I was also able to get a greater play with the negative space

This piece is all photo collage with marker. Framed and matted, 16"x20"

“A Slow Cool Waltz to Spring” is all photo collage with marker. Framed and matted, 16″x20″.

created.

This piece is presently on display at the Rochester Public Library, in Rochester, New Hanpshire.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 05/07/2013, in art, collage, Rochester and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

