more about the two mixed media series

Since I returned to blogging, I have not really explained why I am doing what I am doing. I regard myself as a painter, though I have done professional photography, so none of this is really off-topic.

It was very much a decision based on finances that pushed me into exploring other methods of making art. Since I have old prints, I started cutting them up and manipulating them into other images. Recently, I got a nice chunk of overtime, and made more prints.

The new series has really split into two very separate entities. I am aware of that and I will continue to explore the floral based pieces as part of the “Razing the Garden” series, and the other pieces, which have nothing to do with flowers as “Rural Contracts”. The two have a very different attitude, but are providing a wonderful way for me to explore mediums and themes.

I am about to start a painting-based “…Garden” piece, but I wanted to put this older “Rural Contracts” one up for viewing. It is called “Disposable Indian”, and is presently on display at the Gatehouse Gallery, in Tamworth, New Hampshire. There is no “hand” work in this besides the cutting up of three photographs from three different locations, and melding them into one image.

"Disposable Indian", 2013, photo collage, 12" x12" framed

“Disposable Indian”, 2013, photo collage, 12″ x 12″ framed

Painfully honest, and maybe a bit dogmatic, but I still really like this image.

This and three others are at the Gatehouse now.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 05/08/2013, in art, collage, galleries, photography, social commentary and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

