Evolution

When I started this blog nearly two years ago, I was returning to really familiar art terms from an earlier time. I have been to so many places in my work that I guess I will continue to recapitulate in some manner that is familiar now and for the rest of my career.

Maybe.

Kind of.

I am now pushing out boundaries in the sense that I never included photography in the 1980s mixed medium pieces. But, who had access to digital at that point, and I might have but there was the price of film and printing.

Yesterday, I went to one of my old favorite toy stores, Home Depot. I bought one vinyl floor tile and Japan drier, scooped up a few samples of vinyl tiles, and snagged two pieces of free wood. Since the work has much to do with structural decay, the texture and colors of the tiles made sense. I was also looking for textured surfaces that I can paint. For 89 cents, I get 12″ x 12″ that are all ready to go.

As I continue to organize the KAA Moderns Group, I am also getting myself set for these shows.

(c)Dartt Hurst, "Posted, No Parking", 2013. Mixed media, vinyl and photographs

(c)Dartt Hurst, “Posted, No Parking”, 2013. Mixed media, vinyl and photographs

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 06/10/2013, in art, collage, Kittery, mixed media, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

