Art Between the Eyes

Funny how the original intent of this post is actually catching up to me! And, finding me, as well. Win-win, as far as I am concerned.

For those that have read through the early posts, I was really trying to spotlight out-of-the way venues. But, I have 40 hr. gig and I am an artist, so the focus has evolved to be more me in these venues.

The Gatehouse Gallery actually contacted me in January of 2012. That initiated a fruitful relationship for both of us, professionally, as well as personally. (The most expensive piece Malynda has sold was mine).  New galleries in the North Country spring up all the time and are usually out-buildings restored and repurposed.  And, they need to be explored!!

Artists exist everywhere-and I keep getting knocked back by stuff I find in places where you would least expect it.  Many people with huge talent and major resumes move here to get away from New York, Boston, etc… There are some powerhouses like Bess Cutler at the Kittery Art Association.

I met George and Paula, from Art Between the Eyes Gallery  last month.  Genuinely warm and wonderful people, as most of the north country folk in NH are (I got lost today-and my faith in humanity is always refreshed in the north-I got directions from a stranger) on my way there. Paula and George and I talked for a fair length of time at the Gatehouse Gallery last month, but I was delighted to be asked to visit their little gallery with work. And, leave the work for them to sell.

Art between the Eyes

Art between the Eyes

 

 

Abte 4

 

I passed on shooting Malynda Roy Forcier’s work -basically because of where it is placed. (bad light for that time of day). But, she is there, too.

I want to say, “Who needs the New York art world?” A certain few artists, I guess??

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 08/02/2013, in art, collage, galleries, Kittery, Lakes District, mixed media, New York, NH, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

