More January art, art events, shows (Part 1)

Once upon a time, I thought that the art “season” in this part of the country began on Memorial Day week-end, and ran through Columbus Day. As the art community up here “unearths” itself, I am finding more and more opportunities to show throughout the year.

And, I am busy.

The year kicked off with finding out at the end of December, 2013, that I was accepted into the present show at the Gallery at 100 Market Street in Portsmouth.

Only three of these are mine: Star Showers, My Dreams Are Too Loud, Furious. The happy little tree above my head is not my worrk

Only three of these are mine: Star Showers, My Dreams Are Too Loud, Furious. The happy little tree above my head is not my work.

This show occupies 4 floors of a prestigious office building in downtown Portsmouth that hosts 4-5 juried group exhibits annually. I am one of 30 in this show, and I have a total of five pieces here. These three are on the 3rd floor, 2 are on the 1st. This show will hang until the 12th of April.

Last week-end was all art for me, and I painted very little-though I did-stay tuned for the next post!! I was part of a BAA pop-up event at Dahlia on Saturday, and “The Sky’s the Limit” show opening reception was on Sunday .

The Dahlia pop-up in North Berwick was staged in the a smaller room behind the larger store space. Kerry, the shop’s owner, fully intends on using the space we filled as more retail space but turned it over to us for the day. And, what fun we had hanging the show the Wednesday before as well as hanging out (and selling) on Saturday.

Beth Wittenberg and Bob Farrell during the arranging of the pop-up

Beth Wittenberg and Bob Farrell during the arranging of the pop-up

 

Bad Moon Rising, Lemon, Forest Floor (near door) a Dahlia

Bad Moon Rising, Lemon, Forest Floor (near door) at Dahlia

 

 

 

 

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 02/02/2014, in art, Berwick, event, galleries, NH, opening reception, Portsmouth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

