Challenges, timelines and pure exhaustion

Thanksgiving week was all about prep for Red Saturday, the Berwick Art Association art fair and the hanging of the Sole City show. And, to make all of that happen, I took the end of my vacation time to make sure it did.

Now, in the meantime I met a very nice man online who lives an hour away…oh yeah, and did I mention the snowstorm that arrived on Thanksgiving Eve…I think by now you are getting the point. The vacation time was not a guarantee that I would see the Escher show at the Currier with George, make lots of wonderful product that would sell, and actually have a day or two to goof off.

Actually the part that DID happen was making lots of good product. All of that product will go to Blackbird Studios on Saturday. (When I define something as “product”, I am talking about wares other than pure fine art.) I finished a number of hand-beaded purses this last week.

Blue brocade bag, hand-beaded embellishments, satin lining

Blue brocade bag, hand-beaded embellishments, satin lining

The wear-and-tear of an art fair is tiring at best. Ten hours and the boiler in the building was out. Back to the snowstorm that made it impossible for a lot of this area to cook on Thanksgiving…so they had their turkey when we had our fair.

The snowstorm kept me from physically meeting my friend, much less seeing the exhibit.

Sunday, I felt like I had worked. But, the car  needed to be unloaded and reloaded to hang the Sole City show, the gem of the year.

Monday, that show went up-and quickly! Joanne, who arranges their shows, was a tremendous help and I am so excited to see all of this work up together. By late Monday afternoon, I felt like that milestone birthday I am approaching is real.

Sole City, hallway looking east

Sole City, hallway looking east

And, I am gearing up for my 2nd show as the Show Coordinator of the BAA-that opening is on Friday.

Erin Duquette thinks I have five clones, and I want to find one for a back massage.

Happy art making!

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 12/03/2014, in art, Berwick, Blackbird Studio and Gallery, museum, New hampshire, Rochester and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

