Inspiration and where I find it

Social media has so revolutionized the way we connect, banter about art and art-related issues!!

I belong to a local group on Facebook, where the administrator asked the question on Saturday, “What do we do when we are in an artistic slump?”

This is a hard one for me because I really haven’t had one since 1997. Maybe, and actually I was even producing some then, but it was all photography. And, it’s really not a slump when your husband in the hospital at least once a month. There were some other issues.

So, in responding with “I  can’t not work. I got beyond all of the ‘need for inspiration’ crap a long time ago”, I effectively opened a juicy can. And, irritated a few artists I am associated with. So, this is a rebuttal of sorts, or at least an explanation.

We have shared recently how the art world has changed, thanks to the same social media where this dialogue is being held. I started thinking tonight about how art is perceived by artists, and how it is very different from one to the next.

For artists like myself, this isn’t just an outlet, this is a job. I can’t go to work tomorrow and tell my manager that I am not inspired. I’d love to do that, and collect a check!! And, I can’t tell the painting that I am waiting for the gel medium to dry that I no longer am inspired. Or, myself. In the case of art, the checks aren’t guaranteed, but the satisfaction is.

I don’t understand the inspiration concept anyway. Maybe when I signed up to do this in 1978, I agreed to always be inspired, to always look at my surroundings, to always explore ways of presenting visual ideas, to always make things and most importantly, to always learn.

That gel medium looks like it is dry. Back to work.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 01/05/2015, in art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

