Crazy new challenges and the “Venus de Who”

I accepted every “challenge” I got, from creating a piece a day for 30 days to a piece a day for five, and for a reason. They have forced me to think beyond the three-week long oil on canvas and even the small watercolors, since I really am striving to incorporate as much as I know in the 2-D world into single pieces. This is giving me an excuse to brush up on many mediums that I haven’t touched in a long time, and make them work in ways that I haven’t used them yet.

Erika Carty came to our Artshare meeting last night bearing gifts. The pastels she had included colors I don’t have and since I am starting to use them in my watercolors…I also have to give an acknowledgement to Mell Bosch who suggested using chalk pastels like I do oil pastels with my water-based paint. I took those pastels and played with them, only including Sharpie markers. I wet the paper first. And, there is no watercolor paint in this piece.

"Venus de Who", (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015, pastel on watercolor paper

“Venus de Who”, (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015, pastel on watercolor paper  6″ x 6″

 

So, as I continue to work these challenges, this is a piece that I may not have ever produced otherwise! Thanks for this challenge!

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 01/22/2015, in art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

