Modigliani’s Mistress, stage 2

"Modigliani's Mistress", (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015. Mixed media on canvas. 18" x 24"

“Modigliani’s Mistress”, (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015. Mixed media on canvas. 18″ x 24″

This is a tough piece for me since this is really out of my comfort zone. I rarely set out to portray anything unless it is in fairly exacting detail. So, there is a side that wants to obliterate the facial features and make this strictly an abstract. Or, commit to all of the available detail-except in this case, there is none.

There is also a new oil, and I have no idea where this one might go yet.

new untitled oil-very early stage

new untitled oil-very early stage

But, I see a head-and that’s how the one above started. This canvas I treated with a surface, which might make it a greater challenge-or might make it easier to make it “mine”.

So, please feel free to follow the progress of these two works. I will try to make updates as I work on them.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 01/24/2015, in art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. They both have so much energy in them. Looking forward to seeing what you choose to do with them!

Leave a Reply

