Snow and Topos

Today was to be all about art. We were predicted to get 4″-8″ of snow, a perfect excuse to get into the paint.

I have two canvases midway, and I had several challenges to fulfill. I can safely say the canvases are now too wet to continue on and the challenges are completed. A personal goal was also met today by exceeding prior views for my post in one day-and the day is not over.

For most of the morning, I seemed to be able to do no wrong. The right materials and the right colors seemed to just find my fingers!

"Paperwhite", (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, mixed media including graphite, watercolor and pastel, 6" x 6"

“Paperwhite”, (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, mixed media including graphite, watercolor and pastel, 6″ x 6″

My good friend, Jeannie Griffin-Peterka is really a presence in this piece. Her work and mine are aligned, but her palette is more controlled and subdued, and she blocks her composition differently.

Here is one finished last night that did not get photographed until this morning, which explains quite visually the difference in palette, though mine is usually has more white than this. I love my color!

"Velvet Underground", (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst,2015, chalk pastel on wet paper. 6" x 6"

“Velvet Underground”, (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst,2015, chalk pastel on wet paper. 6″ x 6″

I am having way too much experimental fun with literally painting with pastels. This paper was soaked a few times and the marks that are visible were made with a palette knife. Thanks again to my friend, Erika Carty who added more colors to my palette of pastels the other night.

"Mind Topo 2". (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015, watercolor, acrylic, pastel,  7" x 5"

“Mind Topo 2”. (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015, watercolor, acrylic, pastel gel medium, 7″ x 5″

Where I am not maybe channeling other artists, I am comparing my thought processes, and art processes to reaching peaks. I have a real love for hiking, seeing vistas from a different perspective, and looking down at what I have just accomplished or overcome.

So, this is a sampling…I am posting more.

A note about the way I work: every day, if possible. When I can’t there seems to be this deluge of artistic energy that is apparent on the week-end.

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 01/24/2015, in art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Daryl-Ann, I’m so honored that you mentioned me. We are kindred spirits artistically and I love seeing your work and reading your blog.

    • I am honored that you read my blog! How is your schedule this month? Love to see your studio and maybe do a piece about you for this? Have a glass of wine and be silly girls too? Let me know. TY!

Leave a Reply

