One definition of “Art in Small Places”

I have a large solo going up next week that includes work that came down on the 11th. It got wrapped and stacked in my studio/living room until Feb 1, when it gets delivered to the Gafney Library.

I am trying to get ready for the call for Gallery at 100 Market in Portsmouth, and I also have created a large number of watercolor/mixed media pieces on paper within the last few weeks.

As I was trying to cut foamcore and mats I realized that I have basically no room until this work goes north.

Cutting mats in the last remaining floor space

Cutting mats in the last remaining floor space

This defines dedication for an artist, I think. This is my living room. No real complaints (aside from I have run out of room), but I want to show the rest of the world that a lot of us don’t go to these gloriously naturally lit huge empty spaces to work. Many of us have spaces in our homes. In my case, my entire apartment is my studio-and that’s not the exception to the rule either!!

another view of the work space

another view of the work space

So, as I cut mats, stretch canvas, etc., I might also be moving furniture.  Cutting down a full sheet of mat board on the floor might be a challenge tonight.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 01/25/2015, in art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

