My creative energy in storms

We are supposed to get snow…major snow…blizzard-type weather in the next 24-36 hours. I am excited, pumped, knowing that I am “trapped” here tomorrow.

Yes, I have to do my 40-hour gig work, too, but there is something fun about having to stay in for the day. Something like getting trapped in the blanket fort, as it collapsed, as a kid. Not to downgrade the severity of what could happen with this storm. I might lose power, but I live close to a lot of medical facilities, including two hospitals. I am in one of the first grids that are restored.

Storms like this bring out the best in my photography, and I love to play in that medium on the day after a big one. Unfortunately, this year, it’s not happening on a Saturday, so I will have to work. But, here are some images from a storm two years ago…

Rochester Snow God, (c)Daryl-An Dartt Hurst, 2013, digital photograph

Rochester Snow God, (c)Daryl-An Dartt Hurst, 2013, digital photograph

But, there is something about hearing the wind through the Sumac that borders my apartment and knowing that I could lose power any minute that increases the need to get to the paint or photo or blog 🙂 , or maybe it is just Mother Nature.A minimal take on a storm, "Through the Bars, (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2013, digital photography

A minimal take on a storm, “Through the Bars, (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2013, digital photography

Snowstorm Nemo in 2013. "Closed Due to Blizzard" (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2013. Digital photograph.

Snowstorm Nemo in 2013. “Closed Due to Blizzard” (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2013. Digital photograph.

We’ll see how intense this one is-Nemo was a week-end storm so sorta fun. Iola could be a pain!

I follow my gut with what I should do creatively and when. But, I create, regardless. Let it snow.

 

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 01/26/2015, in art, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

