Updates and revisions

I got up this morning after lying in bed contemplating how this piece was not finished. After dinner, I changed all that!

"Juno with Robins", (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015, mixed media, 12" x 12"

“Juno with Robins”, (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015, mixed media, 12″ x 12″

Now. those of you who don’t know what a blizzard “looks” like, have an idea.

I also worked on the two canvases that I have in progress. “Modigliani’s Mistress” is smiling now-sort of. I blocked out more of the ground, and added a second eye to the face, as well.

"Modigliani'a Mistress", (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, in progress

“Modigliani’a Mistress”, (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, in progress (sorry this is slightly out-of-focus)

And, the work that changed the most…

untitled, (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015, in progress

untitled, (c)Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, 2015, in progress

These canvases start completely saturated with paint thinner, to enable the wash effects that I work with. This one got its’ third “bath” tonight, got flipped upside down from the last time I worked on it. I added the metallic gold, white, and deepened some of the purple. It important to note here also that the underlying texture is part of my prep process which includes creating that texture with acrylic paint and a palette knife.

I am hoping to have these canvases both finished this week-end, since there is a call for 100 Market Street that I would like to submit something to. If not, not a tragedy!

I did a lot of shoveling this morning, so an early night for me. Enjoy!

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 01/28/2015, in art, mixed media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

