The definition of “good” art, Part 1

I think this may be a rambling essay that spans several days, but this idea came in a dream-and it makes sense now that I am exploring a great variety of mediums and styles, to figure out which direction to pursue.

What defines “good art”? Great art resonates, and you know when you see it. It doesn’t always have  a”wow” factor, but it always makes you think about it. Some calls you back for another look. A masterpiece takes all of that to the stars.

I belong to two art groups, both of which have a “share your art” element. I know many regional working painter, sculptors and photographers, so my Facebook home page is always covered in art. I do see my share of “meh” art.

It seems that too much of what is said is supportive, when maybe constructive criticism is necessary. But, when and where should that happen-or should I be brazen enough to tell someone that I think they are producing “hack” work? I honestly think that if someone doesn’t speak up, certain people will never realize their full potential, because they will never step outside their “safe” zone.

So, should we feel safe when we make our work, or should we feel challenged? I think the latter, because without a little change, where is the growth?

To be continued…

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 01/29/2015, in art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Jean Coughlin

    This is a controversial subject. Sometimes it really eats at me. Especially the older I get. Why do we do art? Who’s gonna see it. What about that degree program. Does the fact that a degree mean you’re better, what do you learn from teachers? Nowadays everyone is a damn artist, and the art that is recognized in the big picture is always go a real political or new construct as a part of the manifest. I have to ask myself why am I doing this…
    Why did Mick paint all his masterpieces when they just sit in a closet.
    It’s so hard to get an audience for “good” art. And it is so hard to define.
    When you are close to people who are creating art, what is the goal? Constructive criticism is good for some people, devistating for others. I think sometimes my art is completely lost in the world of viewing, to know what I’m trying to do you have to be me.
    I do think in the end the person an artist has to satisfy is themselves, if they are good, they are going to keep challenging themselves to go somewhere they haven’t reached yet.
    A friend or a colleague can chose to try and influence that with constructive criticism, and whether it will matter is up in the air in my opinion. Someone has to be open to it.
    I think I’m not very open to criticism, I just don’t care what anyone thinks sometimes…

    • I realized that when I broached the subject, and it was not a real surprise when Gloria dove for my throat. It was never meant to be taken personally by her, but I felt like it was-hence my whole “you are missing the point”.
      I feel most of the group are doing what they should do-and, btw, there is nothing wrong with traditional!!
      But I think I will propose that we do a real “critique” situation where people like myself and Beth want to discuss and suggest and learn from one another at the next biz meeting. I think it would also be invaluable for all members wanting expanded conversations on what they should do next, how they should fix a piece, etc.
      Please put that on the agenda!

Leave a Reply

