Nahcotta and Zev Yoga Show Openings tonight

There has been a deterioration of the “Art Around Town” circuit since 3 Graces closed. That was a sad day for many of us. But it was nice to see Kim Ferreira’s “Jackalopes” at Nahcotta tonight-a pleasant reminder that the reason why she closed her gallery was to devote more time to her art.

The decision to venture out tonight was because I am a fan, follower, and friend of Jeannie Griffin-Peterka, and I am proud to say she was my nomination for her solo at the r.mfa.  I needed to see this show. I support my artist friends and I love to see their new work. Her show was at Zev, the opening was 6.

“Art Around Town” starts at 5, and I was in town shortly after. I stuck my head in Kennedy Studios, took a peak and wandered down to Nahcotta. Fair warning-wear great snow footwear. Yikes! Walking was an interesting task!

Nahcotta’s “Enormous Tiny Art-Winter, Show #17” was a really nice change from what they had up last week, which really felt like…this is what we had in the backroom, with no cohesion at all…but we needed something on the walls. I know from having been in enough galleries in the last 38 years, that happens. January is a peculiar month. So, no fault to the gallery for that :).

There is some great work in this show, and based on the red-dots, the show is being well-received. I particularly liked Amanda Kavanaughs’ pieces and Kate Todaro “L3 to the Red Line” series.

"L3 to the Red Line", (c)Kate Todaro

“L3 to the Red Line”, (c)Kate Todaro

I cheated with the camera, because I noticed another person writing and capturing images on his phone. We actually ended up having a conversation about the show, and about what he felt was redeeming, etc. I did think it was fun to be not the only one doing this and Marc and I also shared some “big city” thoughts on the way art is reviewed.

From Nahcotta, I ice skated (not literally, but close), to Zev.  Jeannie was just taking her boots off at the door (it’s a yoga studio) when I walked in. I am a personal comrade, so all I am going to say here is “see this show”. All of her work is fairly large acrylic on canvas.  Her work is remarkable and some day I will own this piece:

"Number 27" (c)Jeannie Griffin-Peterka

“Number 27” (c)Jeannie Griffin-Peterka

There are small details in this painting that she doesn’t always include that I like. This piece almost feels like a cityscape, which grounds it, and I think that’s a quality that I am responding too, as well.

So, I am home and warm and expecting more snow, and then…more snow…with more snow. Perfect painting weather.

 

 

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 02/06/2015, in art, New hampshire, opening reception, Portsmouth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

