Busy, and the Gafney opening was perfect

I was trying to post daily, and I got really good at posting something…

and then this last period happened…

so, here I am again, to show off today, and the opening reception at the Gafney.

I loved today. A perfect flow where everything actually made sense. Huh?

I delivered 2 pieces to the Gallery at 100 Market, and the curator was there early, knowing I needed to be in Sanbornville at 9:30. Amazingly, I got to the Gafney much earlier than I expected. So, the food display was artful, too.

My compadre, Steffanie Antonio was there right after 10. That really set the pace for the reception! Anne and Niles showed up not 10 minutes later…

Gabe Smith showed up in a HAZMAT suit, to so a performance at the Courier. Amy Regan is also here.

Gabe Smith showed up in a HAZMAT suit, to do a performance at the Courier. Amy Regan is also here.

As Anne Vaughan wanted a real tour, I needed to break for a whole new set of arrivals. I am waiting for the rest of the images that other people shot today, because once things got rolling, I “lost” my camera.

Steffanie Antonio's shot of me in front of "Truant's Holiday"

Steffanie Antonio’s shot of me in front of “Truant’s Holiday”

Amy Regan, who is one of the founders of the Rochester Museum of Fine Art came and we discussed not only some of my art-making history, but also some of the mechanics of this show, and how I work.

I guess for some, putting together a show this size might be a retro…for me, the oldest piece in the show is September of 2013. About 40 of the 49 pieces on display are from 2014.

It will be up through next Saturday-check for the library hours on their website.

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 02/21/2015, in art, mixed media, New hampshire and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wonderful exhibit! Wish we could have made the reception I wanted to meet you in person and tell you how wonderful your work is – glad everything fell into place – love Gabe in the Hazmat suit LOL

Leave a Reply

