My recapitulation of art history, in parts-reaction to a new show

PART 1

Art didn’t begin with Picasso, or Duchamp.

If you listened to some and looked at others though, you might think so. I saw a show this week that made me think that maybe the 1970s needed to be revisited-but I can’t agree. So, I thought about some of my history.

I grew up in Los Angeles. Larry Bell’sand Laddie John Dill’s  work is very familiar to me. I knew it, saw it first hand. So is the work of Ed Keinholz. The 1960s was an incredibly rich period in experiment and redefinition.

Painting was dead for a period, too. I think I was a sophomore, painting like I never had before. And, then that period ended, almost as quickly as it started. I never quit, but I found really “left brain” ways of painting, which also satisfied the norm to justify why I liked my brushes.

Once painting was “OK” again, there was a new period called “minimalism”. I loved the likes of Brice Marden. Peter Lodata was an absolute sweetheart in his cowboy boots. Yeah, I met these guys. But, the art he made was so intensely intellectual and it answered one question. One question. And, once you got it, it was time to move on.

James Haywood’s minimalism changed with light, but a piece needed to be placed in just the right place…

 

Peter Lodato at a show in 2011

Peter Lodato at a show in 2011

But, the mid 70’s signaled another social change . And, as I had figured out minimalism, from there I got pattern-painting, a new style-shift.

Four by Four, 1982 (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hust, acrylic on 16 canvases

Four by Four, 1982 (c) Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst, acrylic on 16 canvases,8×8 feet.

Pattern painting justified by great poetic waxing of figure-ground ambiguity continued for a number of years, and some of my artistic statements are so textbook, though I never used one.

To be continued…

 

 

 

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 03/21/2015, in art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

