More about recapitulating art history

So, as a young buck, I sucked up the intellectualism that surrounded me. I embraced “Concept” (with a capital “C”) very tightly. But, hey, I was in LA.

Almost 30 years since I left my home town, I have faced an exhibit that seems so totally out of context, and yet, right on my fingertips and so ready to be here. Carly Glovinski is the cause, and 3S is the platform.

“Huh? Ok? And, why”. I am not really intrigued any more by this work than the work I came “of age” with- NOW. I totally get it. But, again I grew up in LA.

But, my fundamental question in all of this is the question of process. There is little “human” presence in this work-foibles and mistakes aren’t noticeable. Let’s revisit concept and Larry Bell. Laddie Dill and all those folks that had artworks built for them. So, I am dealing with process…why? Because I have gotten older and I have been here for 30 years.

I believe Glovinski actually fabricates her own work. Cleanly, and well.

She defines space, and forces her audience to recognize that space. She made me explain to friends why a large floor piece does not allow a piece on the wall. The show made me explain the value of scale.

Eva Hesse did much with a floor. And,I see that here, as well. But, I think the best thing about this show is she doesn’t stick exclusively to one perameter-determiner, but actually strikes out to say, “Yeah, but?”

But, the fun thing with this show is we see more modes of expression. “Evolving Coast” a wood book on a lawn chair says I’m not about space and minimalism. Once again challenging the viewer to scratch their heads.

And, as artists, we do get to make people do that.

Part III. Beyond Process

The best work I have ever seen was created by Ed Kienholz for making people rethink their space. And, change behavior.

https://www.google.com/search?q=ed+kienholz+the+beanery&rlz=1C1GGGE_enUS452US463&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=667&tbm=isch&imgil=J_TJVJjs2QquRM%253A%253BybLdXCWMAuwyjM%253Bhttp%25253A%25252F%25252Fwww.flickriver.com%25252Fphotos%25252Fde_buurman%25252Fsets%25252F72157631732847631%25252F&source=iu&pf=m&fir=J_TJVJjs2QquRM%253A%252CybLdXCWMAuwyjM%252C_&usg=__ddbs_zOnnmacmMq-s9vsoFkD7K4%3D&ved=0CCcQyjc&ei=5CIXVfjJNMe5ggSItYSAAg#imgdii=J_TJVJjs2QquRM%3A%3BpOGS7Bt9MrAewM%3BJ_TJVJjs2QquRM%3A&imgrc=J_TJVJjs2QquRM%253A%3BybLdXCWMAuwyjM%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Ffarm9.static.flickr.com%252F8459%252F8071860653_575b04898d.jpg%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.flickriver.com%252Fphotos%252Fde_buurman%252Fsets%252F72157631732847631%252F%3B500%3B332

or this

http://www.artchive.com/artchive/K/kienholz/john_doe.jpg.html

It really doesn’t take some of the methods being used in some of the most controversial art from last year. It really doesn’t take vulgarity, profanity, or even sex.

One of my recent personal favorite artists whom I am very honored and privileged to show with is Rick Burns. He has shown work at Blackbird Studio and Gallery that also asks people to participate. He doesn’t take over a floor space, but he asks for thought, and gets it.

He doesn’t necessarily question space, but he does create work that invites the viewer to also be a participant in his work, and change it.

(c)Rick Burns

(c)Rick Burns

This piece invited the viewer/participant to tighten/loosen the bolts. And, many did, begging again the question of “Who is the artist?

I’ll continue to call myself one, but I think we need to give more credit to our audience.

And, I am sure I will continue with this subject.

 

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 03/28/2015, in Berwick, Blackbird Studio and Gallery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

