Black Ground series, drawings and paintings

Last January, a work mate and friend gave me a pad of black paper. I loved black paper in college but haven’t worked much on it since. I have two smaller works solos coming up and this presented a perfect opportunity to work with pastel.

The first drawings have been well-enough received that I then did a 24″ x 36″ oil and oil pastel and chalk painting called “Melting”, which is in the Art PM show at BUOY Gallery in Kittery, Maine.

Melting

Today, I started the color on pre-painted black canvases:

Black Ground 2

Black Ground 3

I sure like it when my confidence is restored. As elegant and simple as “Melting” is, these are much more in keeping with my style. Neither are finished, and don’t have titles as yet, either.

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 03/20/2016, in art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

