Change of pace

Artinsmallplaces originally was created to talk about other people’s stuff. In those days, I was mainly concerned about art which seemed to be popping up everywhere. I wanted to make sure the world knew where and when art could be seen in the area.

Today, I am more concerned about creating a viable alternative zine. Something that will provide interesting reading material for a vast cross-section of the population. This will also create a more arts-ready population (I think), so it serves the same purpose as it was originally intended.

I am also including the writing of contributors this time around. I plan on wearing more of the Editor-in-Chief hat than the writer/artist hat. I am hoping for quality work in both the written and the visual contributions and I encourage anyone who is interested to contact me with submissions. No queries are necessary. Though, since this is a start-up I will not be able to pay now, I hope as we grow the readership.advertising base, that will change. (I’d like to get paid too.)

Please feel free to contact me at artinsmallplaces@gmail.com with materials. I am open to discuss ideas that I think might not fit the “plan”, so you will not just get a flat “rejection” letter. I am an artist, too.invisible-storm

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 12/17/2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

