Back to the working grind

What a year so far! The point now is to get my “program” back to normal. There are really only a few days out of the chemo cycle that are difficult and those are the days that the steroids have interrupted my sleep rhythm. I had one of those today, and called out “sick.” I slept until around 11 AM to normalize.

So, I am trying to balance the art/work life and in that, trying to develop a signature work. I allowed myself lots of experimentation over the last four months, including MM, watercolor portraiture and surreal photography.

The photography almost brought me to the point of purchasing a new camera today. Rather than buying an expensive new unit with income tax return money, I want to make the little cameras pay for the new big sister. I purchased a little devise to help transfer my slides onto disc, however, which will help integrate the film work that I did 20+ years ago with what I do now. Oh my, that will be a fun snowy Sunday project!!

The “Mesh” series wasn’t accepted to the show they were intended for but I am framing several of them for upcoming solos. Here are a few examples:

I considered stopping at the Goodwill also today to start shopping for random dolls to include in this series. I might also start to build “rooms” like miniature set-ups (though surreal), for those dolls. But, as I am stretching my creative outlets, I am also trying to get back into a “groove” where everything starts working together again.

 

About artinsmallplaces

I am Daryl-Ann Hurst, (also using Daryl-Ann Dartt Hurst), an artist and writer, who is also interested in antiques, travel and the outdoors. I am hoping to use this blog to meld all of the interests. I was born and raised in California, have a BA in art, have been published in the New England Antiques Journal and have photography on the Gulf of Maine's website. I have shown paintings and prints nationally since 1978.

Posted on 02/16/2017, in art, photo set-up, photography, surrealism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Malynda Forcier

    Sounds Like Plan! Le me know if you are looking for any specific props..I have a small chair and random objects and will keep my eye out too! Hugs -Mxx

    • I am going to be working with Barbie-sized dolls which makes the props and clothes part of the creating. The closing of the DAPL protest camp will be my first subject. I have a doll who looks very Native. And, I feel the need to get a little pyro 🙂

Leave a Reply

